FAQ

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1 – Why BETEN, originally a French company, got itself specialized on Eastern countries, particularly Ukraine?

After having worked in France, in Northern Africa, in the Middle East and then in Asia, the founder of BETEN, Mr. Jean ROCHE had made a contract with the USSR for building patented modular plants at that time in all the republics of the Soviet Union. While he was currently constructing his second plant in southern Ukraine, the Communist bloc collapsed and many countries took their independence. In 1991, he decided to move his representative office from Moscow to Odessa, and to finish the construction of the plant. Realizing the immense potential of this country, he decided to invest there his time and his know-how. Thus our Company benefits today from 20 years of experience in different sectors of activity in Ukraine and also in other CIS countries where it had the opportunities to implement different projects such as Moldova, Russia, Azerbaijan, and Kazakhstan.

    
2 – Is your company French or Ukrainian one?

The BETEN Company is registered in the Register of Commerce and Enterprises in the city of Creteil in France. Our Company has its permanent representative office in Kyiv, Ukraine since 15 years.

3 – To get more information on BETEN activity should I call to Ukraine or to France?

If you call from France of from another Western European country your first contact would be the French Office, and if you call from one of the CIS countries you would better to contact our Ukrainian Office.

4 – What is the reason why your activities are so diversified?

Our Company was able to evolve progressively adapting itself to the world and Ukrainian local conjunctures. Depending on different stages of transition of this country and this geographical zone our Company was involved mostly in agriculture projects at the beginning, then in industrial and later in commercial projects and finally today in the solution of energy problematic. All our know-how and experiences are complementary and allow us to have a transversal vision of each project in order to ensure its successful and sustainable implementation.

5 – Mr. Roche, the founder of the BETEN Company, had been involved during his career in the sector of nuclear energy and today he is developing renewable energies in Ukraine. Contradictory isn’t it?

At that time, nuclear power presented a progress comparing pollution and the risks of coal extraction industry. Mr. Roche was specialized in the maintenance and the environmental safety of nuclear plants (management and liquid, solid and gaseous effluent treatment). He knows very well the risk management of this particular activity, and the limits of the sector. Today, the global weight of this energetic solution is estimated much better in terms of costs and we realize that renewable energies are actually not that expensive, and certainly much more sustainable over time. Thus, all the professional experience of Mr. Roche is being invested in these new solutions for the future, the public and private actors now seem willing to support.

6 – Your agriculture products such as essential oils produced in Ukraine, aren’t they polluted by the radioactivity in consequence of Chernobyl accident?

When BETEN decided in 1998 to launch itself in the production of aromatic plants and cereals and oil-bearing plants, we had taken samples of soil in different places where we wanted to develop our activities (particularly in the area of Vinnitsa 250 km far from Kiev in the north-west of Ukraine) that we sent for analysis to CRIIRAD in France. This famous independent organism specialized in all matters of radioactivity had analyzed our samples and established a level of radioactivity lower than in the samples from the less radioactive regions in France. How is this possible? Chernobyl is located on the northern border between Ukraine and Belarus. The day of the accident, the wind blowing from the south to the north of the country took the cloud over Belarus, the Baltic countries and to Finland, Sweden and Norway where the alert was given and then the radioactive cloud came down to France and then to Italy and Germany but it never came back to Ukraine protected from the Western Europe by the chain of the Carpathian Mountains. We have done analysis on numerous occasions over several years of cereals production, and even have analyzed the samples of essential oils sold to our customers. The level of radioactivity was always zero.

7 – Ukraine, as an emerging country, seems to offer interesting opportunities but what about manifest political and economic instability?

  Ukraine is a young democracy that is still seeking its guidelines but nevertheless marking strong progress towards stability and prosperity. We have been there since the country's independence in 1991 and we see the constant improvement of living and working in this country with unique potential in Europe in the matter of richness of its natural resources, industrial infrastructure and the existing level of training and motivation of its people. There have already been four political democratic changes; therefore the new system is working properly. Even the "Orange Revolution" has shown a maturity and certain political composure.

Would you like to ask your specific question?

CURRENCY

2016-08-19

  • UAH = 28.5
  • USD = 1.13
  • RUB = 71.94

weather

19.08.2016

afternoon +25
evening +21
night +19
morning +17

19.08.2016

evening +19
night +17
morning +19
afternoon +25

FAQ

QUESTIONS FREQUEMMENT POSEES

1 – Pourquoi la société BETEN, française d’origine, s’est-elle spécialisée dans les Pays de l’Est, et particulièrement l’Ukraine ?

Après avoir travaillé en France, en Afrique du Nord, au Moyen Orient, puis en Asie, le fondateur de la société BETEN, Mr Jean Roche, a passé un contrat important avec l’URSS pour construire à l’époque dans toutes les Républiques d’Union Soviétique des usines modulaires brevetées. Alors qu’il était en train de réaliser sa seconde usine dans le Sud de l’Ukraine, le bloc communiste vola en éclat et de nombreux pays prirent leur indépendance. En 1991, il décida donc de déplacer son bureau de représentation de Moscou à Odessa pour terminer la construction de cet ouvrage. Réalisant l’immense potentiel de ce pays, il décida d’y investir tout son temps et son savoir-faire. Ainsi sa société cumule aujourd’hui 20 années d’expérience dans divers secteurs d’activité en Ukraine, ainsi que dans d’autres pays de la CEI où elle eut l’occasion de mener des projets comme la Moldavie, la Russie, l’Azerbaïdjan, le Kazkahstan.

    
2 – Votre société est elle française ou ukrainienne ?

La société BETEN est enregistrée au Registre du Commerce et des Sociétés à Créteil, en France. Elle possède une représentation permanente à Kiev en Ukraine.

3 – Si je veux avoir plus d’informations sur votre activité BETEN dois – je appeler l’ Ukraine ou la France ?

Si vous appelez de France ou d’un autre pays d’Europe de l’Ouest, votre contact privilégié demeure le bureau en France, et si vous appelez d’un pays de la CEI, votre contact est plutôt le bureau en Ukraine.

4 – Pourquoi avez-vous des activités aussi diversifiées ?

Notre société a su évoluer au fil du temps en s’adaptant à la conjoncture mondiale et locale en Ukraine. Selon les époques de transition de ce pays et de cette zone géographique, elle s’est plutôt impliquée dans des projets agricoles, puis industriels, puis de commercialisation et enfin aujourd’hui dans la résolution de la problématique énergétique. Tous ces savoir-faire sont complémentaires et permettent une vision transversale de chaque projet afin d’en assurer le succès et la pérennité.

  
5 – Mr Roche, le fondateur de la société BETEN, a été impliqué dans sa carrière dans le secteur nucléaire et il développe aujourd’hui les énergies renouvelables en Ukraine. N’est pas contradictoire?

A l’époque, le nucléaire présentait un progrès par rapport aux pollutions et aux risques encourus par l’extraction du charbon. Mr Roche était spécialisé dans la maintenance et la sécurité environnementale des usines nucléaires (gestion et traitement des effluents liquide, solide et gazeux). Il connait donc très bien la gestion des risques de ce domaine particulier, et les limites de ce secteur. Aujourd’hui, on évalue beaucoup mieux en terme de couts la globalité que pèse cette solution énergique et on réalise que les énergies renouvelables ne sont finalement pas si onéreuses, et certes bien plus pérenne dans le temps. Ainsi, toute l’expérience professionnelle de Mr Roche est aujourd’hui investie dans ces nouvelles solutions d’avenir, que les acteurs publics comme privés semblent aujourd’hui vouloir soutenir.


6 – Vos produits dans le domaine agricole, comme les huiles essentielles produites en Ukraine, ne sont-elles par polluées par la radiocativité suite à l’accident de Tchernobyl ?

Lorsque BETEN a fait le choix en 1998 de se lancer dans la production de plantes aromatiques, puis de céréales et d’oléagineux, nous avons fait des prélèvements de terre dans les différents lieux où nous souhaitions cultiver (et notamment dans la région de Vinitsa à 250 km de Kiev au Nord-Ouest de l’Ukraine) que nous avons fait analyser par la CRIIRAD en France. Cet organisme indépendant très réputé pour toutes les questions de radioactivité a analysé pour l’ensemble des échantillons de terre un taux de radioactivité plus faible que dans les régions les moins radioactives de France. Comment cela est-il possible ? Tchernobyl est situé à la frontière Nord de l’Ukraine avec la Biélorussie. Le jour de l’accident, le vent soufflant du Sud du pays vers le Nord a emmené le nuage au-dessus de la Biélorussie, des pays Baltes puis de la Finlande, de la Suède et de la Norvège où l’alerte a été donné ; il est bien redescendu sur la France puis est remonté sur l’Italie et l’Allemagne mais il n’est jamais revenu sur l’Ukraine protégée de l’Europe de l’Ouest par la chaine des montagnes des Carpates. Nous avons fait analyser à de nombreuses reprises sur plusieurs années les productions de céréales, et même les huiles essentielles vendues à nos clients. Le taux de radioactivité a toujours été nul.


7 – L’Ukraine, pays émergent, sembles certes offrir des perspectives intéressantes mais quid de l’apparente instabilité politique et économique ?

  L’Ukraine est une jeune démocratie qui cherche encore ses repères mais qui progresse globalement très bien vers la stabilité et la prospérité. Nous sommes présents depuis la prise d’indépendance de ce pays en 1991 et nous constatons l’amélioration constante des conditions de vie et de travail dans ce pays au potentiel unique en Europe tant par la richesse de ses ressources naturelles, que par les infrastructures industrielles déjà existantes et par le niveau de formation et de motivation de ses habitants. Il y a déjà eu quatre alternance politique à caractère démocratique donc le nouveau système fonctionne correctement. Même la « révolution orange » a démontré une maturité et un sang-froid politique certain.

Avez-vous une question precise ?

TAUX DE CHANGE

2016-08-19

  • UAH = 28.5
  • USD = 1.13
  • RUB = 71.94

météo

19.08.2016

soir +21
soir +18
matin +17
après-midi +25

19.08.2016

soir +19
soir +17
matin +19
après-midi +25